What better way than a walking tour to get you immersed in a city? 

Join Newcastle City Guides during the summer months for a heritage walking tour of Newcastle city centre and discover more about the history and culture of our great city.

After a year without tours due to ongoing restrictions around coronavirus, Newcastle City Guides are delighted to return in 2021 with regular Highlight Tours which take place on Fridays - Mondays from Friday 4 June until the end of October 2021.

Tickets for all walks are £5 for adults and accompanied children under 16 years are free. Newcastle City Guide Season Ticket Holders also go free. Pre-booking is essential in order to monitor numbers and ensure social distancing.  Do not just turn up for a tour as regretfully we will have to refuse you.

If you are a 2020 season ticket holder you MUST pre-book and bring your season ticket with you or you may be asked to pay for your tour.  

Please ensure you have a face covering and observe social distancing throughout the tour.

Each Guide will lead up to six people maximum.

City Highlights walking tours

These tours provide a fascinating introduction to the history and culture of our wonderful city.

Tours start at 10.30am outside Central Arcade, Grey Street, near Grey’s Monument, and finish at approximately midday on Newcastle Quayside.

This walk includes a steep downward slope to the Quayside, so guests with wheelchairs or limited mobility may prefer to finish the tour at Newcastle Castle. Please discuss this with the guide before the tour starts.

To book your City Highlights tour please click the date you would like to attend

August 2021

Fri 6th August

Sat 7th August

Sun 8th August

Mon 9th August

Fri 13th August

Sat 14th August

Sun 15th August

Mon 16th August

Fri 20th August

Sat 21st August

Sun 22nd August

Mon 23rd August

Fri 27th August

Sat 28th August

Sun 29th August

Mon 30th August

September 2021

Fri 3rd September

Sat 4th September

Sun 5th September

Mon 6th September

Fri 10th September

Sat 11th September

Sun 12th Sept - no tour due to Great North Run

Mon 13th September

Fri 17th September

Sat 18th September

Sun 19th September

Mon 20th September

Fri 25th September

Sat 26th September

Sun 27th September

Mon 28th September

October 2021

Fri 1st October

Sat 2nd October

Sun 3rd October

Mon 4th October

Fri 8th October

Sat 9th October

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW