Newcastle upon Tyne Bach Choir Spring Concert

Visit Website
Add to trip
Newcastle upon Tyne Bach Choir Spring Concert
Kodaly: Missa Brevis

Britten: Rejoice in the Lamb

Finzi: Magnificat

Messiaen: Transports de joie

Magnus Williamson (organ)

Eric Cross (conductor)

In June the choir are switching their focus to three contrasting works written within a decade of each other in the mid-20th century.

The Missa Brevis (Short Mass) by Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály was written in 1942. It was first performed in exceptionally difficult circumstances during the siege of Budapest in the winter of 1944/45. Kodály and his wife were forced to seek refuge in the cellars of the Budapest Opera House and, with a choir made up of the Opera company’s soloists accompanied by a harmonium, performed the work to the distant sound of gunfire: a chilling link to the recent attacks on Ukraine’s Mariupol Theatre.

The Festival Cantata Rejoice in the Lamb, Benjamin Britten in 1943, is for four soloists, choir and organ. One of Britten’s most popular works, it is full of colour, drama and the bizarre imagery of Christopher Smart’s text; the central issue of the individual against the crowd, or against authority, was one to which Britten was to return repeatedly in his works.

The Magnificat composed by British composer Gerald Finzi in 1952 is typical of Finzi’s lyrical music and his characteristically 'English' approach, though the work also contains moments of drama.

For this concert the choir will be accompanied by Magnus Williamson on the University’s splendid new Aubertin organ, which will also be put through its paces in Messiaen’s colourful Transports de joie for solo organ.

Event Dates

Date Available Ticket Types Ticket Price Book Tickets
19th June 2022,
  • Standard
  • Standard
  • Children
  • Standard
  • GBP 15
  • GBP 7
  • GBP 0
  • GBP 7
Book Now

How to find us

Search what's on

GeordieStreet app
GeordieStreet app

Loading entries...

You May Also Like

GeordieStreet app
GeordieStreet app