Newcastle International Chamber Music Series: Heath Quartet

Newcastle International Chamber Music Series: Heath Quartet
Fanny Mendelssohn Quartet in E flat

Britten Quartet No.3 in G, Op.94

Schubert Quartet No.14 in D minor, “Death and the Maiden”

The Heath Quartet came together as students in 2002, and won the Gramophone Chamber Award for their Tippett recordings in 2016, and were nominated again for their Bartòk series in 2018. We missed hearing them in early 2020 due to the virus pandemic and are delighted that they will be here close our season.

Fanny Hensel (née Mendelssohn) was, like her younger brother, a prodigiously talented musician and prolific composer. This is her only surviving string quartet. Britten’s third quartet was his last completed instrumental work, and was premièred by the Amadeus Quartet at Snape Maltings just two weeks after his death in 1976. Schubert’s glorious chamber works have ended our season on several occasions, and ‘Death and the Maiden’ is guaranteed to send us away elated and eager for more.

Event Dates

Date Available Ticket Types Ticket Price Book Tickets
27th May 2023,
  • Standard
  • GBP 7.5 - 23
Book Now

How to find us

Search what's on


Loading entries...

You May Also Like